Daily Archives: April 25, 2011

One dedicated curator and an alternate reality game

This May, curator Brett Kelly of the National Civil War Museum in Harrisburg, PA is going to make all other public historians across the nation look like sissies. He’ll conduct a two-week march in period outfit from Virginia to Pennsylvania as part of a fundraising drive.  Full pack, no tent, nineteenth-century rations.  Click here for information on how to donate.

Back in my museum days, I thought I deserved a medal just for working every fifth weekend.  Now that I’ve read this, I feel like a wuss.

The museum will also conduct an “alternate reality” game to run concurrently with the march.  My thanks to educator Jeff Mummert for bringing this to my attention; check out his blog for details on the game.

Leave a comment

Filed under Civil War, Museums and Historic Sites