Daily Archives: July 29, 2009

Another book that needed to be written

This is turning out to be a good year for books that I’ve always wished somebody would write.  Back in March we got the first full-scale study of the Battle of Guilford Courthouse, and it was everything I’d hoped it would be.

Today I ran across another new book that I’m frantic to read, Kevin T. Barksdale’s The Lost State of Franklin: America’s First Secession.  This is a fascinating chapter of early American history that’s gone unexamined for far too long, and I’m glad somebody’s finally putting out a detailed piece of research on it.

This baby just shot to the top of my reading list.  Unfortunately, I’m neck-deep in class preparation, so it’ll be a while before I can dive in.  I’ll let you know what I think.

3 Comments

Filed under Historiography, Tennessee History