Question about eighteenth-century masculinity

So I’m working on a project linking frontiersmen’s mobilization in the Revolutionary War to eighteenth-century conceptions of masculinity and manhood.  I’ve been putting together a reading list of books on masculinity in early America, and I’ll be drawing on the work of John Ruddiman and Lorri Glover (who was one of my first grad school professors).

One of the angles I’d really like to explore is whether Americans of the Revolutionary era associated manhood to the defense of one’s home and family.  Since frontier settlers played up the need for security in their Revolutionary rhetoric, tying the defense of the home to manhood would make it a lot easier for me to examine the importance of ideas about masculinity that affected their participation in the Revolution.  Do any of you fine folks know of any scholarly literature or contemporary material that explores this association?

5 Comments

Filed under American Revolution, Historiography

5 responses to “Question about eighteenth-century masculinity

  1. I feel sure you’ve seen the Filson Club History Quarterly, “General Joseph Martin of Virginia, An Unsung Hero of the Virginia Frontier,” by Dr. William Allen Pusey. I reread that recently and it’s emphasis on the manly man is striking.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.